The area has been settled from the early Iron Age. In 1764 the cotter's farm known as "Myren" was separated from "Fiskågård". In 1854 consul Wild bought the place and built the houses in the best Swiss style, as a summer house for his ailing wife Mathilde.
The gardener Poul Holst Poulsson from Christiania drew up plans for a garden in the English style in 1860. In the course of a couple of years the marshy terrain was built up with ballast from the sailing ships. Along with these ballasts came a number of plants and seeds which took hold in the southern Norwegian climate. The park is therefore an experience for botanists and others. There is also access from the sea. Abundant flora.
Communal workshop Myren Grafikk, tel. 916 05 022. Graphic art on sale. Open every day.