Dynamic Variation:
Choose Language
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Bergen

Alice Di Piazza & Ivan Monighetti


Grieg and music from the Soviet era – with the Italian-Russian duo Alice Di Piazza & Ivan Monighetti.
She was considered a child prodigy on the piano, Sofia Gubaidulina, but she wanted to be a composer. Since she was 22 she has devoted herself exclusively to composing.
Chaconne for piano is the only work from her student days she has kept in her opus list. It is highly changeable in expression, from the majestic to the childish, including a modicum of forbidden jazz in the process, written by a composer with a command of the instrument. Gubaidulina has described Alice Di Piazza's performance of the piece as 'a revelation'.
In the preludes for cello the expression emanates from a variety of different playing techniques. The miniatures display Gubaidulina's penchant for exploring the timbral register of an instrument and her openness for unconventional solutions. This was definitely not appreciated by the Soviet authorities.
Several of Sergei Prokofiev's works were blacklisted by the Soviet Congress of Composers in 1948. In his Cello Sonata the following year he took the necessary precautions without renouncing his characteristic style and delight in music.
Di Piazza has performed with Ivan Monighetti, cellist and contemporary music expert, since 2011. 'They have invited the public to feel the music not only like a symbol of Beauty, but also as a living testimony of Humanity', was the verdict of a reviewer in the Swiss daily L'impartial.
Alice Di Piazza piano | Ivan Monighetti cello
EDVARD GRIEG (1843–1907) Intermezzo for Cello and Piano | Two Brown Eyes op. 5:1 arranged for cello and piano | I Love Thee op. 5:3 arr. for cello and piano
SOFIA GUBAIDULINA (1930–) Ten Etudes for Solo Cello
SERGEI PROKOFIEV (1891–1953) Cello Sonata in C major op. 119
More Gubaidulina works at Bergen International Festival 2018: 
Sonnengesang at the concert Bergen Domkor with Andreas Brantelid
Fachwerk at the concert Fachwerk m/Geir Draugsvoll & Kremerata Baltica
Offertorium is written for violinist Gidon Kremer, who perfoms it at the concert Grieg & Gubaidulina with Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Gidon Kremer & Ah Ruem Ahn
Free transport to Composers’ Homes Return transport is included in your Bergen International Festival ticket. Please note that the bus leaves promptly on time. The bus journey to Troldhaugen is approx. 30 min.
CONCERT AT 19:30 Departure from the Tourist Information/Mathallen at 18:00. Return from Troldhaugen, departure at 21:30.

  • Last Updated: 03/05/2018
  • Source: Bergen Reiselivslag

Mon, May 28, 2018 7:30 PM 8:55 PM

See All
Alice Di Piazza & Ivan Monighetti
Your Recently Viewed Pages