Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
  • Accommodation

    Scandic Hotels – in all major cities from north to south

    Nordic Choice Hotels – a different hotel company

    Thon Hotels – with fantastic breakfast

    Radisson Blu Hotels – discover your favourite destinations

    Citybox – modern and affordable hotels in a central location

    DanCenter – your specialist in holiday homes in Norway

    Norgesbooking – book your perfect cabin stay in Norway

    Campcation – book camping all across Norway with Campcation

  • Getting Here & Around

    Vy – travelling by train has never been easier

    SJ NORD – the adventure starts on the train

    Vy express – travel with bus throughout Norway

    NOR-WAY Bussekspress – experience amazing scenery by bus

    Widerøe – the largest regional airline in Scandinavia

    DFDS – Europe’s leading ferry operator 2012-2021

    AutoEurope – always a smooth car rental experience

    Rent-A-Wreck – the smart car rental alternative

    Arctic Campers – Norway’s camper van rental

    Cabin Campers – your cottage on four wheels

  • Tours & Round trips

    Hurtigruten – "The World’s Most Beautiful Sea Voyage"

    Fjord Tours – Home of Norway in a nutshell® - Norway’s most popular tour

    Authentic Scandinavia – Travel created by locals

    Up Norway – Bespoke luxury tailored by insiders

    Norrøna Hvitserk – expeditions and adventure holidays

    Booknordics.com – hundreds of activities, tours and day cruises in Norway

    Brim Explorer – silent fjord tours by electric catamaran

    Fjord Travel – let us show you the beauty of Norway!

    Go Fjords – tours and activities all over Norway

    50 Degrees North – unforgettable tailor-made and small group tours to Norway

    Discover Norway – skiing, biking and hiking tours in Norway

    Norwegian Holidays – low-price package holidays with Norwegian. Flight, hotel and rental car

    Stromma – sightseeing, excursions and experiences with bus, boat and train

  • Alpine mountain resorts

    Rauland – Skiing holidays in stunning mountain scenery


  • Offers

or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Vestland BERGEN

Andrew Litton 20 Years’ Anniversary


Shostakovich described his Symphony No 8, written in 1943, as ‘an attempt to reflect the terrible tragedy of war.’

That was the official line. In reality, Shostakovich’s Eighth was a Requiem for all those who had suffered not just at the hand of the Nazis, but under the ruthless regime of the dictator Josef Stalin. The music reveals ugly truths with its mock grandeur and relentless claustrophobia. When the symphony finally discovers the ‘warm’ key of C major, it feels less like a victory and more like a lucky escape.

Marking 20 years since he began his twelve-year stretch as chief conductor in Bergen, Andrew Litton returns to the orchestra for this performance and is joined by his longstanding collaborator Vadim Gluzman for music by another Soviet composer. Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No 2 carries with it the transparency, tunefulness and directness of expression that was approved by same authorities who condemned Shostakovich’s music as torture. But Prokofiev’s gritty, engaging concerto is surely a little more cryptic than it would first appear…

With Bergen Philarmonic Orchestra.

  • Last Updated: 01/29/2023
  • Source: Visit Bergen

Thu, April 27, 2023 7:30 PM 9:30 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Andrew Litton 20 Years’ Anniversary
Your Recently Viewed Pages