Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslofjord Oslo

Ani – The forgotten city of the Silk Roads

Overview

Gain some insight into how today’s political situation challenges the preservation of our shared cultural heritage

The city of Ani lies at the border between Turkey and Armenia, and was in its heyday in the 1000th and 1100th century. Back then, it was the capital of the Armenian kingdom, strategically located by the Silk Road between China and Europe.

When the Silk Road lost its function as a trading route between the East and the West, Ani lost its central function. The city was subjected to conquers and natural disasters. Earth quaked destroyed a lot of the beautiful architecture. As the centuries passed, Ani was abandoned and forgotten.

However, a unique collaboration between Armenians, Turks and international partners has recently opened for the possibility that Ani is examined and preserved. In 2016, the city was included on the UNESCO world heritage list.

The exhibition Ani – The forgotten city of the Silk Roads documents the magnificent ruin city and the important work that is put into preserving it. However, it also shows how a lot of work remains, and how today’s political situation challenges

  • Last Updated: 09/11/2018
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Thu, October 18, 2018 2:00 AM 6:00 PM

Fri, October 19, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, October 20, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, October 21, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, October 23, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, October 24, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, October 25, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, October 26, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, October 27, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, October 28, 2018 2:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, October 30, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, October 31, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 1, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 2, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 3, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 4, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 6, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 7, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 8, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 9, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 10, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 11, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 13, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 14, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 15, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 16, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 17, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 18, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 20, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 21, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 22, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 23, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 24, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 25, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 27, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 28, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 29, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 30, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 1, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 2, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 4, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 5, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 6, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 7, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 8, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 9, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 11, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 12, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 13, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 14, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 15, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 16, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 18, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 19, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 20, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 21, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 22, 2018 1:00 AM 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Ani – The forgotten city of the Silk Roads
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad