Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Stavanger

Autumn Hike to Kjerag (day-hike)

  • Outdoorlife Norway, Ryfylkegata 13, Stavanger
  • +47 97 65 87 04
  • September 1, 2017 - October 31, 2017
  •  /  12:00 AM to 11:59 PM
  • (61 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Join Outdoorlife Norway on an autumn hike to Kjerag, and witness the magic of the season's shifting colors and Norway's crisp and cool mountain air.

For many, the trip's highlight is standing atop Kjerag's famous boulder, but the trek also provides hikers with an abundance of breath-taking views over the Lysefjord. Snow, when present, contrasts splendidly with the flame-colored foliage. 

The hike to Kjerag is relatively demanding: you'll trek 11 kilometers (round-trip) with an ascent of 800 meters in approximately* 5.5 hours.  To facilitate hiking through the most difficult types of terrain, Norway's government has contracted Nepalese Sherpas to start making improvements to the trail. During Autumn, weather conditions can be unstable. As needed, the guide will adjust your equipment (ice spikes, etc.) to match the weather conditions. During the 2.5-hour hike to the boulder, you'll encounter periods of steep climbing interspersed with shallow valleys.

The final 2 kilometers leading up to the Kjerag boulder are relatively flat and will allow you to focus more on the beautiful nature around you. Once you reach the edge of the mountain's plateau, while standing on a 1000-meter-high cliff, you will be rewarded with panoramic views of the 42-kilometer-long Lysefjord.

*In the event that snow is present, your hike may last longer than approximated.

  • Last Updated: 06/24/2017
  • Source: Region Stavanger
Dates
Friday, September 1, 2017

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Monday, September 4, 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Friday, September 8, 2017

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Monday, September 11, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Friday, September 15, 2017

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Monday, September 18, 2017

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Monday, September 25, 2017

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Friday, September 29, 2017

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Monday, October 2, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Friday, October 6, 2017

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Sunday, October 8, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Friday, October 13, 2017

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Monday, October 16, 2017

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Friday, October 20, 2017

Saturday, October 21, 2017

Sunday, October 22, 2017

Monday, October 23, 2017

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Friday, October 27, 2017

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Monday, October 30, 2017

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

See All
Click to activate
Stavanger, Norway
The latitude and longitude
58° 58' 8" N / 5° 45' 11" E
Autumn Hike to Kjerag (day-hike)
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad