Unknown Component
civid: 5f74f731e1d91547d61722bc
name: plugins_common_social_share (widget)

Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra: Sibelius, Nielsen og Bacewicz


Sibelius's last symphony is one of the musical wonders of the last century - a score born of personal struggle that manages to be profound, majestic and humbling. In its short, single-movement span, the symphony appears to live a whole life. Here Thomas Søndergård combines the Seventh Symphony that seems to flow like mighty river with its immediate predecessor, the Sixth, a score that appears to freewheel like a bicycle careering down a hill. Allessandro Carbonare steps into the mischevious shoes of Carl Nielsen's wickedly entertaining Clarinet Concerto - the composer's attempt to capture the essence of the instrument he described as ‘warm hearted and completely hysterical, gentle as balm and screaming as a streetcar on poorly lubricated rails'.

Last Updated: 09/18/2023

Source: Visit Bergen

Your recently viewed pages