Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Lillehammer Gausdal

Bjørnson - Like a king he was taken to his grave

  • Aulestadvegen 6-14, Follebu
  • +47 61288900
  • May 21, 2019 - September 29, 2019
  • (49 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson – author, peace- and human rights activist – died in Paris 26 April 1910

Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson – author, peace- and human rights activist – died in Paris 26 April 1910.

An adventurous life had come to an end

Bjørnson’s grand journey home started at sunrise from Gare du Nord. Part of a train coach was furnished as a mourning chapel.

The Norwegian artist colony in Paris came to give Bjørnson their last respect – among these were the painters Jean Heiberg, Anders Castus Svarstad and Henrik Sørensen.

Minister Frits Wedel-Jarlsberg held a speech, and wreaths were placed on the coffin.

The journey back home

First by train via Copenhagen where hundreds had gathered in the streets to say their goodbyes. At the dock the warship Norway waited.  

Back in Norway Bjørnson was greeted with the Royal Mourning Salute from both Oscarsborg and Akershus fortresses, and  King Haakon welcomed the ship at the dock in Kristiania. 

The mourning procession wandered slowly through Kristiania (Oslo). Spruce garlands adorned the route.

75,000 people filled the streets. Grand Hotel and many other buildings along the way were decorated with spruce twigs, and 2000 school children with flags sung «Ja vi elsker» at the Cemetery of our savior.

  • Last Updated: 06/18/2019
  • Source: Visit Lillehammer
Dates

Tue, July 23, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, July 24, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, July 25, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, July 26, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, July 27, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, July 28, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Mon, July 29, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, July 30, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, July 31, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, August 1, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, August 2, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, August 3, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 4, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Mon, August 5, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 6, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, August 7, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, August 8, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, August 9, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, August 10, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 11, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Mon, August 12, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 13, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, August 14, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, August 15, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, August 16, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, August 17, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 18, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Mon, August 19, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 20, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, August 21, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, August 22, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, August 23, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, August 24, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 25, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Mon, August 26, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 27, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, August 28, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Thu, August 29, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Fri, August 30, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sat, August 31, 2019 10:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, September 1, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, September 7, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, September 8, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, September 14, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, September 15, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, September 21, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, September 22, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, September 28, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, September 29, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Bjørnson - Like a king he was taken to his grave
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad