TRAVEL ALERT! Important information about the Coronavirus situation in Norway
Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Clyne, Prokofjev, Sjostakovitsj & Stravinskij


Distinctive storytelling and fairyland atmospheres by Igor Stravinsky and Sergei Prokofiev:

In 1910, Igor Stravinsky got his big breakthrough when his ballet The Firebird was premiered in Paris. The story is based on Russian fairy tales and involves a prince, thirteen enchanted princesses, an evil sorcerer, and the mythical Firebird. Stravinsky’s music is rich in magical sounds and distinctive storytelling. At this concert, you will hear the suite from 1945.

Sergei Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was also premiered in Paris in 1923 and has since become one of the most popular violin concertos of the 20th century. The music fluctuates between ethereal, fairylike atmospheres, and raw, fervent parts. The soloist is Sonoko Miriam Welde, one of our time’s most prominent Norwegian violinists.

The English composer Anna Clyne (born 1980) wrote the orchestral work This Midnight Hour in 2015. The work is based on poems by Charles Baudelaire and Juan Rámon Jiménez.

Anna Clyne This Midnight Hour
Sergei Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1
Dmitri Shostakovich Festive Overture
Igor Stravinsky The Firebird (1945 suite)
Ben Gernon conductor
Sonoko Miriam Welde violin
Ung Filharmoni

  • Last Updated: 07/29/2020
  • Source: VisitOSLO as

Thu, October 1, 2020 7:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Clyne, Prokofjev, Sjostakovitsj & Stravinskij
Your Recently Viewed Pages