Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslofjord Oslo

Constellations of Love – Vigeland in light of Michelangelo

Overview

As early as in his 20s, Gustav Vigeland drew pietà-like motifs. From 1894, we see how he develops and rewoks this religious topic through a plethora of love-themed drawings. 

Is there a connection between Vigeland's sculpture Man with woman in lap and Michelangelo's Pietà (1498-99)? The first sculpture has a profane content, the latter religious. The similarities may not be striking, but if we study Vigeland's notebooks we clearly see that he was inspired by Michelangelo at the point in time when this sculpture was created. 

The exhibition shows a selection of Vigeland's drawings and notebokks, and provides rare insights into Vigeland's art on paper.

  • Last Updated: 10/21/2019
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Thu, November 14, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 15, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 16, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 17, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 19, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 20, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 21, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 22, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 23, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, November 24, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, November 26, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, November 27, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, November 28, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, November 29, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, November 30, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 1, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 3, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 4, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 5, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 6, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 7, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 8, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 10, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 11, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 12, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 13, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 14, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 15, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 17, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 18, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 19, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 20, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 21, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 22, 2019 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, January 2, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, January 3, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, January 4, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, January 5, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, January 7, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, January 8, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, January 9, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, January 10, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, January 11, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, January 12, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, January 14, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Wed, January 15, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Thu, January 16, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Fri, January 17, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sat, January 18, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, January 19, 2020 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Constellations of Love – Vigeland in light of Michelangelo
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad