Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Norway Now
Search
or search all of Norway
KODE 2

Exhibition: The Silver Tax of 1816

  • Rasmus Meyers allé 3, Bergen
  • +47 55568000
  • September 28, 2016 - February 26, 2017
  •  /  11:00 AM to 4:00 PM
  • (75 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Nation Building through Volunteerism and Force. How is value created and recreated throughout history?

200 years ago Norway established its own national bank. The starting capital was raised through what was popularly called ‘the silver tax’. Norway’s citizens contributed both silver objects and coins.

The transformation of value – from objects to money – has now gone further, resulting in today’s virtual economy. People no longer fill treasure chests with precious metals, but silver objects do still have special meaning in many a Norwegian’s life.

The exhibition ‘The Silver Tax of 1816’ marks the 200th anniversary of the founding of Norway’s central bank, Norges Bank. It gives the public insight into different forms of value: the silver’s value as a metal, and the symbolic value of silver objects. The exhibition also addresses critical issues related to our confidence in means of payment and today’s virtual economy.

To raise the capital needed to establish the bank, silver was collected from ordinary citizens, first in the form of voluntary subscription (shares), eventually through compulsory taxation. In Bergen, 876 people contributed. Through a selection of personal objects such as silverware, jewellery and bunad silver (worn with the national costume) from the collections of KODE and the University Museum of Bergen, the public can learn about seven local citizens who made large and small contributions to help Norway in a time of deep economic crisis. These are the business magnates August Konow and Herman D. Janson, the teachers at the Latin school F.C.H. Arentz and Lyder Sagen, the business women Karen Ameln and Else Marie von Tangen, and Norway’s parliament speaker at the time, W.F.K. Christie.

In conjunction with the exhibition, KODE will organise several debates that challenge our understanding of what is considered valuable in Norway today, not only in the fields of art and culture but in the social and political spheres. How is value created and transformed throughout history?

Bergen Collaboration
‘The Silver Tax of 1816’ is part of Norges Bank’s bicentenary celebrations and is produced by KODE, in collaboration with the University Museum of Bergen and Bergen City Museum.

The University of Bergen has commissioned a series of articles which will be published in connection with the exhibition. The authors shed light on different aspects of the silver tax and its influence on Bergen’s society and Norwegian society as a whole. Bergen City Museum has developed a mobile app which takes you on a dramatised walking tour to some of the addresses of those who paid the silver tax in 1816.

- from www.kodebergen.no

  • Last Updated: 12/01/2016
  • Source: Bergen Reiselivslag
Dates
Friday, December 2, 2016

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Friday, December 9, 2016

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Friday, December 16, 2016

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Friday, December 23, 2016

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Friday, December 30, 2016

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Sunday, January 1, 2017

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Friday, January 6, 2017

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Friday, January 13, 2017

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Friday, January 20, 2017

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Friday, January 27, 2017

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Friday, February 3, 2017

Saturday, February 4, 2017

Sunday, February 5, 2017

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Friday, February 10, 2017

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Friday, February 17, 2017

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Friday, February 24, 2017

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Sunday, February 26, 2017

See All
Click to activate
Bergen, Norway
The latitude and longitude
60° 23' 23" N / 5° 19' 31" E
Exhibition: The Silver Tax of 1816
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad