Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Fredrik Værslev – Fredrik Værslev as I Imagine Him

  • Strandpromenaden 2, Oslo
  • +47 22936060
  • September 21, 2018 - January 13, 2019
  • (45 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

21 September–13 January 2019, Astrup Fearnley Museet

Astrup Fearnley Museet presents a solo exhibition with the Norwegian contemporary artist Fredrik Værslev (b. 1979).

Early in his career, Værslev experienced a breakthrough on the international art scene. His works shift between different painting traditions and are recognised by an insistent focus on the painting process. The works start out in the meeting between architecture and painting, and take form as painted renderings of motifs from the artist’s daily life. The paintings often shift between abstraction and representation, like his breakthrough series, “terrazzo” paintings, that imitate the visuality of Italian stone floors and at the same time call upon the expressivity and spontaneity of abstract expressionism.

The “Canopy” series are reminiscent of modernism and its stripe paintings, but they stem from the awnings in the artist’s childhood home. Værslev often themes and challenges the process of  painting by allowing outdoor conditions to take their effect or by making use of untraditional painting implements, like defect spray cans or equipment used to paint roads and sports arenas.

The exhibition includes a representative selection from Værslev’s artistic production from the past decade.

Curators: Gunnar B. Kvaran and Therese Möllenhof

  • Last Updated: 10/23/2018
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Wed, November 14, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, November 15, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, November 16, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, November 17, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, November 18, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, November 20, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, November 21, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, November 22, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, November 23, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, November 24, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, November 25, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, November 27, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, November 28, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, November 29, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, November 30, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, December 1, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, December 2, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, December 4, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, December 5, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, December 6, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, December 7, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, December 8, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, December 9, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, December 11, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, December 12, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, December 13, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, December 14, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, December 15, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, December 16, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, December 18, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, December 19, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, December 20, 2018 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, December 21, 2018 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, December 22, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Wed, January 2, 2019 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, January 3, 2019 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, January 4, 2019 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, January 5, 2019 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, January 6, 2019 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, January 8, 2019 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Wed, January 9, 2019 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Thu, January 10, 2019 12:00 PM 7:00 PM

Fri, January 11, 2019 12:00 PM 5:00 PM

Sat, January 12, 2019 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, January 13, 2019 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Fredrik Værslev – Fredrik Værslev as I Imagine Him
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad