Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslofjord Oslo

Gerhard Munthe – Enchanted design

Overview

8 June–2 September, Nasjonalgalleriet: A presentation of one of Norway's most original designers

Exhibition with works by Gerhard Munthe.

Although Gerhard Munthe (1849–1929) is probably best known as a painter, his most original, important contributions were in the areas of design and interior decoration. In 1891. Gerhard Munthe observed that Norway’s national industry did not incorporate any uniquely Norwegian patterns, but had borrowed everything from somewhere else. This “drew my attention to industry”, Munthe said, and he went on to create over eighty different designs for wallpaper, textiles, porcelain and graphic art. He later expanded his repertoire to encompass furniture, silver, book bindings, illustrations, typefaces and bookplates.

Munthe worked alongside, and somewhat in the forefront of, the Art Nouveau movement. His design is independent and original, drawing on Antiquity, Norwegian folk art and Japonisme.

  • Last Updated: 07/26/2018
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Sat, August 18, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 19, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 21, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Wed, August 22, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Thu, August 23, 2018 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 24, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sat, August 25, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, August 26, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Tue, August 28, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Wed, August 29, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Thu, August 30, 2018 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 31, 2018 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sat, September 1, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

Sun, September 2, 2018 11:00 AM 5:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Gerhard Munthe – Enchanted design
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad