Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Norway Now
Search
or search all of Norway
Bryggens Museum

Gyda says you should go home

  • Dreggsalmenning 3, Bergen
  • +47 55308030
  • September 6, 2016 - December 22, 2016
  •  /  11:00 AM to 3:00 PM
  • (15 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

"Gyda says you should go home" - Runic inscriptions from Bryggen in Bergen.

We welcome you to a peek into the world's largest collection of medieval runic inscriptions. All of the inscriptions on display were found in the Bryggen area.
A dark night more than 750 years ago, Gyda might have been tired of her husband's late nights at the pub. Perhaps she carved the inscription in a hurry and sent one of her children along with the message.

The runes speak straight to us from medieval Bergen. We find letters of trade, receipts, magical formulaes, religious inscriptions, Norse poetry, poetry and literary references in Latin, secret messages, sexual hints, drunken nonsense and incomprehensible messages.

Most of the messages were not meant for our eyes. The message was carved with a knife on an available wooden stick, delivered to the recipient, (hopefully) read and then thrown away.

  • Last Updated: 09/05/2016
  • Source: Bergen Reiselivslag
Dates
Thursday, December 8, 2016

Friday, December 9, 2016

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Monday, December 12, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Friday, December 16, 2016

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Monday, December 19, 2016

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thursday, December 22, 2016

See All
Click to activate
Bergen, Norway
The latitude and longitude
60° 23' 54" N / 5° 19' 22" E
Gyda says you should go home
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad