Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Ibsen on stage: Lille Eyolf

Overview

From 24 May, National theatre: When the dream of the perfect family becomes a nightmare

Experience Henrik Ibsen's Little Eyolf at the National theatre with English subtitles. 

When the dream of the perfect family becomes a nightmare for the children.

We all seem to be concerned with how we relate to our children, but have we forgotten what it really means? Does the facade matter too much? Do we neglect the importance of just being there? These are the questions director Sofia Jupither poses in Little Eyolf

Eyolf is a child who is not seen. As a baby, he fell from the changing table because his parents, Rita and Alfred, were more concerned with each other than with his safety. In most productions, the emotional warfare between Rita and Alfred is the focus of the play. In Jupither’s version, though, Eyolf is the protagonist. Little Eyolf drowns, and Rita and Alfred – played by Pia Tjelta and Kåre Conradi – do not see what they had until they have lost it.

Of all Ibsen’s plays, Little Eyolf is the one least influenced by the surrounding community. There are no telegrams in locked mailboxes and there is no syphilis; there is only a reference to a steamer. The story is easy to adapt to our own time. The story of the vulnerable child speaks just as strongly to us today. Ibsen’s people belong to our time.

  • Last Updated: 05/22/2019
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Sat, May 25, 2019 6:00 PM

Mon, May 27, 2019 7:30 PM

Tue, May 28, 2019 7:30 PM

Wed, May 29, 2019 7:30 PM

Sat, June 1, 2019 6:00 PM

Mon, June 3, 2019 6:30 PM

Tue, June 4, 2019 7:30 PM

Thu, June 6, 2019 7:30 PM

Fri, June 7, 2019 7:30 PM

Tue, June 11, 2019 7:30 PM

Wed, June 12, 2019 7:30 PM

Thu, June 13, 2019 7:30 PM

Fri, June 14, 2019 7:30 PM

Sat, June 15, 2019 6:00 PM

Mon, June 17, 2019 7:30 PM

Tue, June 18, 2019 7:30 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Ibsen on stage: Lille Eyolf
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad