Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Norway Now
Search
or search all of Norway
Kunstindustrimuseet

Japanomania in the North – design

  • St. Olavs gate 1, Oslo
  • +47 21982000
  • September 13, 2016 - October 16, 2016
  •  /  11:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Overview

The fascination for Japan left its mark on the visual arts, design and fashion, and formed a prelude to Nordic modernism.

Japanese inspiration, or Japonism as it is known in the arts, began to evolve when Japan opened its borders in 1854. The exotic art of the land to the east garnered immediate admiration and had a major impact on European impressionists and design reformers.

For the first time ever, this exhibition shows the wide-ranging influence of Japanese art on Nordic art and design around 1900. Works by Gerhard Munthe, Thorvald  Bindesböll, Bruno Liljefors and Helene Schjerfbeck are presented along with works by pioneers such as Monet, Gauguin and van Gogh.

Please note: The exhibition consists of two complementary parts, showing concurrently at the Museum of Decorative Arts and Design and the National Gallery. The opening ours of the Museum of Decorative Arts and Design has slightly different opening hours from those of the National Gallery.

  • Last Updated: 09/13/2016
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates
Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Friday, September 23, 2016

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Sunday, September 25, 2016

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Friday, September 30, 2016

Saturday, October 1, 2016

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Friday, October 7, 2016

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Sunday, October 9, 2016

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Friday, October 14, 2016

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Sunday, October 16, 2016

See All
Click to activate
Oslo, Norway
The latitude and longitude
59° 55' 6" N / 10° 44' 35" E
Japanomania in the North – design
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad