Skip to main content
Unknown Component
civid: 5f74f731e1d91547d61722bc
name: plugins_common_social_share (widget)

Leif Ove Andsnes & Bertrand Chamayou


Piano duets for four hands from Schubert's last months.

At 31 years old and terminally ill, Franz Schubert was still frantically composing work after work until shortly before he died. Among the music he wrote in the last year of his life, there are several pieces for four hand piano, including the dramatic Fantasy in F minor.

For this concert, pianists Leif Ove Andsnes and Bertrand Chamayou have juxtaposed Schubert's duets for four hands with short pieces by contemporary composer György Kurtág and his playful series Játékok for solo and duo piano.

When Andsnes and Chamayou performed at the Edinburgh International Festival this autumn, it was said that they played as one. The concert, also broadcast on BBC, received critical acclaim.

Leif Ove Andsnes is one of Norway's most prominent instrumentalists and has been called 'one of the most gifted musicians of his generation.' He has won eleven Spellemann (Norwegian Grammy) Awards and been Grammy-nominated as many times, and has been well received at the Bergen International Festival on numerous occasions. Bertrand Chamayou is the only 5-time winner of the prestigious Victoires de la Musique Classique award, most recently in 2022. This is the first time they perform together at the Bergen International Festival.

'… four hands, one voice, and that voice was Schubert's. I am very grateful to have been present to hear it.' – EDINBURGH MUSIC REVIEW

Image: Leif Ove Andsnes (photo: Helge Hansen) and Bertrand Chamayou (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Last Updated: 03/03/2024

Source: Visit Bergen

Your recently viewed pages