Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Bergen

Livreddaren - The Life Saver

Overview

A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau.
A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau.The Spælsau (Old Norwegian Short Tail Landrace) is a breed of sheep from Norway. Many consider Spælsau to be the original breed of sheep in Norway, and it is one of the Northern European short-tailed sheep breeds.

It is well adapted to the climate and was a domestic animal from the Iron Age The wool is characterised through having two layers: An outer longhaired glossy undulating layer of wool protecting the underlying layer against wind and rain, and an underlying layer which keeps the sheep warm. The long protective wool which is used for weaving is traditionally spun into two-strand tightly-spun yarn instead of the usual three-strand type, resulting in a beautiful lustre.

Through photo, text and an installation made of wool, the Spælsau of today represents a fragile, interrelationship between animal and human.

Photos: Nils Olav Mevatne

Text: Øystein Rygg Haanes

Installation: Marit Adelsten Jensen and Else Karin Tysse Bysheim

Adult NOK 80
Children under 16 free of charge

  • Last Updated: 02/06/2018
  • Source: Bergen Reiselivslag
Dates

Sun, February 18, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, February 20, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, February 21, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, February 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, February 25, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, February 27, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, February 28, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, March 1, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, March 4, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, March 6, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, March 7, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, March 8, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, March 11, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, March 13, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, March 14, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, March 15, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, March 18, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, March 20, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, March 21, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, March 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, March 25, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, March 27, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, March 28, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, March 29, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, April 1, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, April 3, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, April 4, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, April 5, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, April 8, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, April 10, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, April 11, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, April 12, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, April 15, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, April 17, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, April 18, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, April 19, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, April 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, April 24, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, April 25, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, April 26, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, April 29, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, May 1, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, May 2, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, May 3, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, May 6, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, May 8, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, May 9, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, May 10, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, May 13, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, May 15, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, May 16, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, May 17, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, May 20, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, May 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, May 23, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, May 24, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, May 27, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, May 29, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, May 30, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, May 31, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, June 3, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, June 5, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, June 6, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, June 7, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, June 10, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, June 12, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, June 13, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, June 14, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, June 17, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, June 19, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, June 20, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, June 21, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, June 24, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, June 26, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, June 27, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, June 28, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, July 1, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, July 3, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, July 4, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, July 5, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, July 8, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, July 10, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, July 11, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, July 12, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, July 15, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, July 17, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, July 18, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, July 19, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, July 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, July 24, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, July 25, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, July 26, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, July 29, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, July 31, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, August 1, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, August 2, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, August 5, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, August 7, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, August 8, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, August 9, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, August 12, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, August 14, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, August 15, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, August 16, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, August 19, 2018 12:00 PM

Tue, August 21, 2018 12:00 PM

Wed, August 22, 2018 12:00 PM

Thu, August 23, 2018 12:00 PM

Sun, August 26, 2018 12:00 PM

See All
Livreddaren - The Life Saver
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad