Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Gudbrandsdalen Lillehammer

Maihaugen's Christmas tree 2018

  • Maihaugvn 1, Lillehammer
  • +47 61288900
  • November 30, 2018 - January 13, 2019
  • (30 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Maihaugen's Christmas tree is decorated annually by a Norwegian artist or designer. This year, the artist Kjell Erik Killi-Olsen has decorated the tree.

Maihaugen's Christmas tree is decorated annually by a Norwegian artist or designer. This year, the artist Kjell Erik Killi-Olsen has decorated the tree.

Kjell Erik Killi-Olsen has been described as art's pop star. He creates art that hits right in the heart and is famous for his distinctive figures from the fantasy world.

Dead pine

Killi-Olsen has chosen a dead pine with two trunks for this year's edition of Maihaugen's Christmas tree. The artist has filled the tree with sculptures made especially for the occasion.

The figures are imaginative, vulnerable, humorous and grotesque. They represent something existential and vulnerable like Christmas can be for many of us.

The two-trunked tree, together with the 66 figures, forms a totality. The tree is made to make us think of and accept what is different.

Every year since 2008 Maihaugen has exhibited a tall Christmas tree in the museum's Visitor Center with decorations made by Norwegian artists and designers.

Read more and see the previous artists

Created at the artist's medieval farm

Killi-Olsen is one of our most prestigious and renowned contemporary artists. He is a painter, drawer, graphic artist and sculptor.

He has received several awards in Norway and has regular exhibitions across Europe and America. Last in The Queen Sonja Art Stable earlier this year.

The artist has created the sculptures for Maihaugen's Christmas tree at his medieval farm Sandbu in Vågå in Gudbrandsdalen, where he moved to last summer.

See all of Maihaugen's exhibitions.

See all the Christmas program at Maihaugen.

  • Last Updated: 12/05/2018
  • Source: Visit Lillehammer
Dates

Tue, December 11, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 12, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 13, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 14, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 15, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 16, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 18, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 19, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 20, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 21, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 22, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 23, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, December 25, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, December 26, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, December 27, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, December 28, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, December 29, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, December 30, 2018 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, January 1, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, January 2, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, January 3, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, January 4, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, January 5, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, January 6, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, January 8, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, January 9, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, January 10, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, January 11, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, January 12, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, January 13, 2019 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Maihaugen's Christmas tree 2018
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad