Dynamic Variation:
Choose Language
Search & Book
Dynamic Variation:
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Stavanger

Nils Økland band

  • Jernbaneveien 9, Stavanger
  • 51 84 66 68
  • February 22, 2018
  •  /  8:00 PM
  • (1 Upcoming Dates)

Fiddle player Nils Økland has a special talent. He makes people pay attention. When he plays, it's as though he appeals directly to everyone who listens. And he can keep his fellow musicians on their toes even though the music may be subdued. His previous album "Kjølvatn" from 2015 on ECM was regarded as his best to date by many critics, winning both prizes and racking up nominations. Now, with "Lysning", the band's first release on the HUBRO label, the musicians are more tightly bonded than ever. The various voices are even more finely tuned resulting in instrumental music with excitement, depth and broad appeal, prompting critics to once again summon forth warm words.

Økland is internationally recognised for his innovative playing style. His solo releases "Blå Harding", "Bris" and "Straum" on ECM and Rune Grammofon respectively, have all reaped rave reviews. Økland has played with several large orchestras, written music for the London Sinfonietta, films, ballets, theatre performances and recorded albums with Christian Wallumrød, Arve Henriksen, Åsne Valland Nordli and Bjørnar Andresen. He is part of the rock trio Lumen Drones (ECM) and improvisational outfit 1982 (Hubro). As a practitioner and composer he has built bridges between folk, contemporary and improvised music.

Økland's band comprises several of Norway's most prominent artists who also are versatile and open in their approach to many genres. All material on "Lysning" is written by Økland and stems from many different projects with which he has been involved. The arrangements have been developed in close collaboration with the band and we can promise an exciting evening when they take the stage at Spor 5.


Nils Økland – Hardanger fiddle, viola d'amore and violin

Rolf-Erik Nystrøm – alto and baritone sax

Sigbjørn Apeland – pedal organ

Håkon Mørch Stene – percussion, vibraphone and guitar

Mats Eilertsen – double bass

  • Last Updated: 01/31/2018
  • Source: Region Stavanger

Thu, February 22, 2018 8:00 PM

See All
Nils Økland band
Your Recently Viewed Pages