TRAVEL ALERT! Important information about the Coronavirus situation in Norway
Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Viken RAKKESTAD

Open Exhibition at The Norwegian resistance museum, Rakkestad

Overview

The museum that helps us not forget

The museum has over a hundred meters of glass cabinet containing around 4000 objects from World War II. The exhibitions are extensive and concerns occupation, war actions, milorg, agents, national assembly, the civilian side, concentration camps and peace.

The Home Front Museum in Rakkestad opened in 1983 after great efforts from a group of idealists. Hardly any museum is based on greater idealism - and the reason is primarily that some of the guys who were in the home forces during the five years of occupation, as well as some younger, war history interested. These would help ensure that the occupation years are not forgotten by future generations. It was well over 30 years since the war ended, and fortunately, they understood that something had to be done before even they were history.

The museum was opened by Crown Prince Harald in October 19, 1983. Crown Princess Sonja also participated in Rakkestad. After that, it expanded in the late 1980s. and the construction of new premises began. The museum today has about 400 square meters with 110 meters of glass cabins and around 4000 objects from occupation, war actions milorg. NS and the peace. The Home Front Museum is today a war museum that deals with most of World War II.

  • Last Updated: 05/20/2020
  • Source: Visit Indre Østfold
Dates

Sun, August 16, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, August 23, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, August 30, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, September 6, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, September 13, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, September 20, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, September 27, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, October 4, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, October 11, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, October 18, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, October 25, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, November 1, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, November 8, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, November 15, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, November 22, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sun, November 29, 2020 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Open Exhibition at The Norwegian resistance museum, Rakkestad
Your Recently Viewed Pages