Norway is opening up! Get the latest travel information
Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Oslo Philharmonic - Mahler's Third Symphony with Klaus Mäkelä


Gustav Mahler absorbed inspiration from every souce during his work with his third symphony: the flowers in the field, the animals in the forest, people, angels and love. Mahler's longest symphony overflows with diverse, all-encompassing music.

Symphony No. 3 was created over two summers, in 1895 and 1896. Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) composed mostly during the summertime, when he was free from his conducting engagements, and often sat alone in his cabin in the woods, writing for hours.

Mahler worked on the movements based on descriptive titles: the first he named "Pan awakens. Summer Marches In". The following movements were given the titles "What the Flowers of the Field Tell Me", "What the Animals of the Forest Tell Me", "What Man tells Me", "What the Angels Tell Me" and "What Love Tells Me". Mahler cancelled the titles before the premiere – he thought them superfluous. Still, his myriad sources of inspiration reflect something of the incredible richness of colours, moods and melodies which make up this symphony.

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 3
Klaus Mäkelä - conductor
Jennifer Johnston - mezzo soprano
Oslo Philharmonic Choir (women's choir)
Øystein Fevang - choir conductor

  • Last Updated: 10/15/2021
  • Source: VisitOSLO as

Thu, May 5, 2022 7:00 PM 10:00 PM

Fri, May 6, 2022 7:00 PM 10:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Oslo Philharmonic - Mahler's Third Symphony with Klaus Mäkelä
Your Recently Viewed Pages