TRAVEL ALERT! Important information about the Coronavirus situation in Norway
Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra Chamber - Chamber music by Mozart and Beethoven


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756−1791) composed his Piano Quintet in E-flat Major in March 1784. On 1st April 1 the work was performed for the first time, with the composer himself at the piano. In a letter to his father, he wrote about the work: "I consider it the best I have written in my life."
When Ludwig van Beethoven (1770−1827) wrote his Piano Quintet more than a decade later, Mozart's quintet was an obvious role model. The wind instruments were the same: oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. But the young Beethoven had already found a musical expression that clearly differed from Mozart's. The work was premiered in Vienna on 6th April 1797.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, K. 452
Ludwig van Beethoven - Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 16

João Miguel Silva - oboe, Fredrik Fors - clarinet, Per Hannisdal - bassoon, Hongpark Kim - horn, Sveinung Bjelland - piano

  • Last Updated: 09/21/2021
  • Source: VisitOSLO as

Sun, October 10, 2021 2:00 PM 3:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra Chamber - Chamber music by Mozart and Beethoven
Your Recently Viewed Pages