TRAVEL ALERT! Important information about the Coronavirus situation in Norway
Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Oslo Philharmonic -Tchaikovsky and Ørbeck


Sandra Lied Haga is the soloist in Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo Theme. Anne-Marie Ørbeck's Symphony in D major was premiered in 1954, as the first symphony written by a Norwegian woman.

Pyotr Tchaikovsky wrote his Variations on a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra in December 1876. He wrote the work for cellist and composer Wilhem Fitzenhagen, and the cellist was so involved in the process that it has been claimed he could be credited as a co-composer. He had great success as a performer with the work, where the cheerful, rococo-like theme is followed by eight variations.

Anne-Marie Ørbeck (1911−1996) was born in Kristiania, and as a 19-year-old she traveled to Berlin to study piano and composition. In 1933 she made her debut as a concert pianist with the Oslo Philharmonic in Haydn's Piano Concerto in D major with self-composed cadences (solo parts). A few years later she was the soloist in her own Concertino for piano and orchestra. Her Symphony in D major was premiered in Bergen in 1954, as the first symphony written by a Norwegian woman.

Sharing buttonsFacebook Twitter

  • Last Updated: 09/22/2021
  • Source: VisitOSLO as

Wed, October 13, 2021 7:00 PM 8:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Oslo Philharmonic -Tchaikovsky and Ørbeck
Your Recently Viewed Pages