Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Vestland BERGEN

Schumann og Brahms


On 31 May 1841, Clara Schumann wrote in her diary of the ‘wild sounds’ spilling from her husband’s study. A new symphony was taking shape on his desk. What Clara didn’t know, is that Robert was in the process of writing her into the score.

The result was his Symphony No 4, a love letter to Clara that flows subtly and beautifully from a tune entwined on strings and bassoon that comes to represent their strong union.

Someone who affected Clara and Robert Schumann equally was the young composer they discovered, Johannes Brahms. Brahms faced a crisis of confidence when writing his first Piano Concerto. He wanted this score to be the most monumental, hard-hitting and original orchestral statement since Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. When he finally got his concerto right, it proved piece of huge emotional breadth that still thrills and surprises a century and a half later.

The ‘superbly resourceful and stylish’ (Evening Standard) Maxim Emelyanychev leads this performance of highly emotional statements from the mid 1800s, with doyenne of pianists Francesco Piemontesi for company.

With Bergen Filharmonic Orchestra.

Francesco Piemontesi, photo: Marco Borggreve.

  • Last Updated: 10/06/2022
  • Source: Visit Bergen

Wed, November 16, 2022 7:30 PM 9:30 PM

Thu, November 17, 2022 7:30 PM 9:30 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Schumann og Brahms
Your Recently Viewed Pages