Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Norway Now
Search
or search all of Norway
Kunstnernes Hus

Seeable/Sayable

  • Wergelandsveien 17, Oslo
  • +47 22853410
  • October 29, 2016 - January 29, 2017
  •  /  11:00 AM to 4:00 PM
  • (56 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Themed on the relation between word and image, literature and visual art, Seeable / Sayable is a collaboration between Kunstnernes Hus and Litteraturhuset (The House of Literature) and involves both artists and authors, existing works and new commissions.

Image and word, the seeable and the sayable, are factually and metaphorically interwoven in our ideas and stories about the world. They form complex entities and ways of grasping the world. Yet they operate differently and cannot be understood as homogenous entities. Art manages to demonstrate and reflect on this interaction and the friction arising from it. A picture can be inherently narrative – mute images may begin to speak. At the same time, a text can conjure a wealth of images in the mind’s eye – words may appear as visible, bodily presences.

How does language create images and how do images manifest language? What emerges in the field of tension between literary and visual artistic expressions? These are some of the questions the project seeks to explore.


Participating artists: John Baldessari, Marcel Broodthaers, Matias Faldbakken, Ester Fleckner, Jan Freuchen, John Giorno, Susan Hiller, Olav Christopher Jenssen, William Kentridge, Solveig Lønseth, Mercedes Mühleisen, Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt and Peter Wächtler.


Curators: Helga-Marie Nordby and Ida Kierulf

  • Last Updated: 10/30/2016
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates
Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Friday, November 18, 2016

Saturday, November 19, 2016

Sunday, November 20, 2016

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Friday, November 25, 2016

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Sunday, November 27, 2016

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Friday, December 2, 2016

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Friday, December 9, 2016

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Friday, December 16, 2016

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Friday, January 6, 2017

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Friday, January 13, 2017

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Friday, January 20, 2017

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Friday, January 27, 2017

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

See All
Click to activate
Oslo, Norway
The latitude and longitude
59° 55' 8" N / 10° 43' 50" E
Seeable/Sayable
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad