Dynamic Variation:
Offers
Choose Language
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslofjord Oslo

Swan lake

Overview

From 26 May, Norwegian Opera & Ballet: Legendary classical ballet

Swan Lake with Tchaikovsky’s immortal music is considered the greatest ballet of them all. The Norwegian National Ballet’s version is based on Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov’ s ballet, which was first danced in St. Petersburg in 1895.

Transformations and magic, loyalty and betrayal, black versus white—Swan Lake’s themes have made it legendary, and has inspired artists for over a century. The core of the story is the love between the swan queen Odette and prince Siegfrid, which the wizard Rothbart does everything in his power to destroy.

The ballet is a big favourite with the audience and a major challenge for the dancers. The double role as the kind swan queen Odette and the evil wizard’s daughter Odile is considered the most demanding role a ballet dancer can undertake. The ballerina must be able to master two diametrically opposite characters, and seamlessly alternate between the white and the black swan: the pure and the demonic.

Now, the dancers of the Norwegian National Ballet take the stage to show us why Swan Lake is still called the ballet of all ballets.

  • Last Updated: 05/21/2018
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates

Sat, May 26, 2018 6:00 PM

Mon, May 28, 2018 7:00 PM

Wed, May 30, 2018 7:00 PM

Fri, June 1, 2018 7:00 PM

Mon, June 4, 2018 7:00 PM

Tue, June 5, 2018 7:00 PM

Thu, June 7, 2018 7:00 PM

Mon, June 11, 2018 7:00 PM

Wed, June 13, 2018 7:00 PM

Fri, June 15, 2018 7:00 PM

See All
Click to activate
Swan lake
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad