Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Trøndelag Trondheim

The Anthropocene City

  • Bispegata 9A, 1. etasje, Trondheim
  • 90729133
  • December 2, 2017 - January 21, 2018
  •  /  Price NO
  • (38 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Trondhjems Kunstforening has the pleasure of presenting the exhibition "The Anthropocene City", a group exhibition by TKF´s members. Opening: Saturday 02.December at 16.00

The December Exhibition is Trondheim Art Assosiation's yearly, juried exhibition for members. It is held on Café Ni Muser from 2nd December 2017 until 21st January 2018. All members have the possibility to apply with max five (5) works of art. TAA's Artistic Council assesses all applications, and picks some pieces that best represents this year's theme. The art must be produced in 2017.

Theme: The Anthropocene City

Trondheim is currently experiencing major growth. New areas such as Brattøra, Ranheim and Lilleby are under development and the university campus is in the process of relocating. This expansion has caused debates and several groups have raised their voices about parks and natural areas such as Nidarø, Høgskoleparken, and the greening of heavily trafficked areas such as Innherredsveien. On one level, these disputes are part of the shaping of the future Trondheim, the Trondheim of tomorrow. On another level, these debates make visible an interesting tension between the city and nature. For some time now, the city has been seen as a cultured space where nature are kept out in favor of human made infrastructures which serve human activities and needs – buildings, roads, sewers, power networks.

As the discussions about future Trondheim shows, the idea of the city as a purely human place is changing. These local debates signal that change is coming. A range of scientists claim that we have entered a new epoch, the Anthropocene, where humans and their activities have become a force of nature that shape basic natural processes such as climate, rather than the other way around. This means that nature has to be taken into consideration in issues where it formerly was left out. In short, where we used to build cities to protect ourselves from nature and its dangers, we now have to care for natures that we have the power to destroy, but that we also rely on. The question then is: What is a good city? For you? For others? What does a good city have to include? Which natures can be integrated into a city? In short, how can we imagine an anthropocene city?

For Desemberutstillingen 2017 Trondheim Art Association's artistic council encourages members to visualize their thoughts, feelings and reflections about the relationship between nature and the city. We seek applications that focus on the relationship between nature and the city based on many different topics, such as social, political, nature and culture, architectural, etc

  • Source: Trondheim Events
Dates

Fri, December 15, 2017 8:00 AM

Sat, December 16, 2017 8:00 AM

Sun, December 17, 2017 8:00 AM

Mon, December 18, 2017 8:00 AM

Tue, December 19, 2017 8:00 AM

Wed, December 20, 2017 8:00 AM

Thu, December 21, 2017 8:00 AM

Fri, December 22, 2017 8:00 AM

Sat, December 23, 2017 8:00 AM

Sun, December 24, 2017 8:00 AM

Mon, December 25, 2017 8:00 AM

Tue, December 26, 2017 8:00 AM

Wed, December 27, 2017 8:00 AM

Thu, December 28, 2017 8:00 AM

Fri, December 29, 2017 8:00 AM

Sat, December 30, 2017 8:00 AM

Sun, December 31, 2017 8:00 AM

Mon, January 1, 2018 8:00 AM

Tue, January 2, 2018 8:00 AM

Wed, January 3, 2018 8:00 AM

Thu, January 4, 2018 8:00 AM

Fri, January 5, 2018 8:00 AM

Sat, January 6, 2018 8:00 AM

Sun, January 7, 2018 8:00 AM

Mon, January 8, 2018 8:00 AM

Tue, January 9, 2018 8:00 AM

Wed, January 10, 2018 8:00 AM

Thu, January 11, 2018 8:00 AM

Fri, January 12, 2018 8:00 AM

Sat, January 13, 2018 8:00 AM

Sun, January 14, 2018 8:00 AM

Mon, January 15, 2018 8:00 AM

Tue, January 16, 2018 8:00 AM

Wed, January 17, 2018 8:00 AM

Thu, January 18, 2018 8:00 AM

Fri, January 19, 2018 8:00 AM

Sat, January 20, 2018 8:00 AM

Sun, January 21, 2018 8:00 AM

See All
The Anthropocene City
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad