Norway is opening up! Get the latest travel information
Dynamic Variation:

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
or search all of Norway
Eastern Norway Oslo

Truls Mørk and the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra: Shostakovich / Berlioz


​​​​​The Stavanger Symphony Orchestra makes a guest appearance in Oslo Concert Hall with its Latvian Chief Conductor, Andris Poga. Truls Mørk is the soloist in Dmitri Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 2.

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975) wrote both his cello concertos for the legendary cellist, Mstislav Rostropovich, who was also a close friend. His second cello concerto was performed for the first time at a birthday concert on the occasion of Shostakovich’s 60th birthday in 1966. Compared with the intense and extroverted first cello concerto, written seven years earlier, the second concerto appears more subdued and reflective. One of the greatest cello virtuosos of today, Truls Mørk, is the soloist.

Symphonie Fantastique (1830) by Hector Berlioz (1803–1869) is one of the great milestones in the history of orchestral music – and possibly one of the most ambitious love letters ever written. In 1827, Berlioz fell deeply in love with the actor Harriet Smithson, who played the role of Ophelia in a production of Hamlet in Paris. Berlioz composed a symphony in her honour, which describes a young artist’s despair and intoxicated hallucinations brought on by unrequited love – from the ballroom to picturesque fields, continuing to the scaffold and his own execution.

Truls Mørk is soloist in Dmitry Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 2.
Dmitry Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2
Hector Berlioz: Fantastic Symphony

Andris Poga - conductor
Truls Dark - cello
Stavanger Symphony Orchestra

  • Last Updated: 10/15/2021
  • Source: VisitOSLO as

Fri, November 12, 2021 7:00 PM 10:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Truls Mørk and the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra: Shostakovich / Berlioz
Your Recently Viewed Pages