Dynamic Variation:
Book
Choose Language
Search & Book
Norway Now
Search
or search all of Norway
Nasjonalgalleriet

Under the Microscope. Gustave Courbet

  • Universitetsgata 13, Oslo
  • +47 21982000
  • October 18, 2016 - February 5, 2017
  •  /  11:00 AM to 5:00 PM
  • (55 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

Meet Gustave Courbet at the National Gallery in Oslo.

For most art museums, it is a challenge to distinguish forgeries from authentic pictures. In particular, many popular French painters fell victim to widespread forgery after their deaths. It has been said of Gustave Courbet that of the 500 pictures he painted, around 5,000 are now in foreign collections. Thanks to new research, it has been possible in recent years to throw light on many false attributions and to expose a number of counterfeits.

The work Pêcheur à la ligne ('The Fisherman') was donated to the National Museum as a supposedly genuine Courbet in 1947. But French experts cast doubt on the authenticity of the picture. Recent research on the provenance of the picture seems, however, to point in the opposite direction: in all probability Pêcheur à la ligne was indeed painted by the master himself. The exhibition Under the microscope. Gustave Courbet shows you how the museum reached this conclusion. 

  • Last Updated: 11/28/2016
  • Source: VisitOSLO as
Dates
Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Friday, December 2, 2016

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Friday, December 9, 2016

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Friday, December 16, 2016

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Friday, December 30, 2016

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Friday, January 6, 2017

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Friday, January 13, 2017

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Friday, January 20, 2017

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Friday, January 27, 2017

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Friday, February 3, 2017

Saturday, February 4, 2017

Sunday, February 5, 2017

See All
Click to activate
Oslo, Norway
The latitude and longitude
59° 54' 57" N / 10° 44' 16" E
Under the Microscope. Gustave Courbet
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad