Get the latest travel information
close
Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Search
or search all of Norway
Trøndelag Trøndelag VERDAL

Viking Summer at Stiklestad (22.6 - 8.8)

Overview

Play like the vikings! Experiences for the whole family.

At the medieval farm Stiklastadir, the children can join the play battle, you can shoot with a bow and arrow and visit the Vikings' longhouse; Stiklastadir. Join our guides on a guided tour of Stiklestad, experience historical exhibitions and enjoy a good meal in the restaurant.

The summer program at Stiklestad runs from 21.6 - 7.8 2022
Tue - Sun: 11 - 16. On Mondays, only the exhibitions are open

11.00: Guided tour for children. Starting-point: the reception at the cultural house
11.00: Guided tour. Starting-pointStarting-point: the reception at the cultural house
12.00: Help feed the animals. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir. 
12.00: Guided tour. Starting-point: Starting-point: the reception at the cultural house
13.00: Guided tour. Starting-point: Starting-point: the reception at the cultural house
13.00: Rig-sturla and the mysterious medallion. Storytelling time in the Guild Hall. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir. 
13.30: The play battle. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir. .
14.00: Guided tour. Starting-point: the reception at the cultural house
14.30: Rig-sturla and the mysterious medallion. Storytelling time in the Guild Hall. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir. 
15.00: Guided tour. Starting-point: the reception at the cultural house
15.00: The play battle. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir.
15.30: Help feed the animals. Meeting-point at the main entrance of the Long House at the farm Stiklastadir. 

About the activities

THE MEDIEVAL FARM STIKLASTADIR
There is full activity with crafts, farm work and children's play both in and outdoors at the medieval farm. Young and old Vikings get to play and challenge themselves in strength, balance and agility. The Stiklestad guides showcase traditional crafts and are more than happy to share knowledge with you. Join around and feed the animals on the farm; you will meet both pigs, sheep and chickens.

The viking longhouse
You can visit the Vikings inside the Guild Hall and the residential part of Stiklastadir and you will hear the stories of the time before the famous battle.

The guest loft
At the guest loft, which is built according to the medieval building customs, you can hear the stories of the changes the battle of Stiklestad led to.

The play battle
Y
ou join the side of the peasant army or the royal army and fight like a Viking with a sword and shield! From 5 years old.

Rig-Sturla
You will hear the story of the slave Rig-Sturla who is preparing the banquet hall for a party. He is angry when Svartalven entices him to try the chief's mMedallion. From 5 years.

The Folk museum
The Folk Museum at Stiklestad consists of 30 buildings from the 17th to the 19th century.
Molåna Café is also open and in the fine living rooms of the Trønderlåna you can buy coffee, cakes, waffles, ice cream and cordial by the hosts dressed in contemporary clothes.

Guided tours
Join the guides who tell the story of the saint king and show you around the battlefield. Own guided tours adapted for children.

Exhibitions
Timber and time travel - 10 years with the medieval farm Stiklastadir
The Saint King's stories - a thousand years in Olav's footsteps
Stiklestad 1030
The youth lectern – Look at me! and Awake («The Stiklestad stones»)

Stiklestad church
Accoding to history, the church was built over the place Olav Haraldsson was killed in 1030. Open 11.00 – 18.00 (1. juli – 15. august)

The culture house:
Ticket sale, information, exhibitions, Restaurant Skalden and the hotel Scandic Stiklestad.

Ticket information
Entrance to Stiklastadir, the folke museum and storeytelling sessions, exhibitions are all included in the day ticket. Can be bougt in the reception ath the culture centre, in the ticket area and online. 

Ticket price:
Adults: 180,-
Children accompanied by adult: free entrance.
The Stiklestad card: free entrance.

Scandic Stiklestad also has hotel packages (accommodation at Scandic Stiklestad + day ticket Viking Summer). Book at stiklestad.no or call 740 44200.

Welcome!

  • Last Updated: 05/11/2022
  • Source: Innherred Reiseliv
Dates

Tue, June 21, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, June 22, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, June 23, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, June 24, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, June 25, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, June 26, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, June 27, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, June 28, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, June 29, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, June 30, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, July 1, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, July 2, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 3, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, July 4, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 5, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, July 6, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, July 7, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, July 8, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, July 9, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 10, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, July 11, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 12, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, July 13, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, July 14, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, July 15, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, July 16, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 17, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, July 18, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 19, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, July 20, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, July 21, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, July 22, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, July 23, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 24, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, July 25, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 26, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, July 27, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, July 28, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, July 29, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, July 30, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 31, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, August 1, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, August 2, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, August 3, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, August 4, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, August 5, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, August 6, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, August 7, 2022 11:00 AM 4:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Viking Summer at Stiklestad (22.6 - 8.8)
Your Recently Viewed Pages