Skip to main content

Johan Falkberget - The museum at Ratvolden

Groups can book guided tours at Ratvolden, the home of Johan Falkberget in the summer season (1.06. – 30.09.)

The author Johan Falkberget (1879-1967) grew up in a mining area and began his career as a miner, his works drew extensively on his experiences with the people, the country culture and mining. His breakthrough work in 1923 was a novel titled «Den fjerde nattevakt» or "The Fourth Night Watch", a historic novel set in the first half of the 19th century in and around the mines. This was followed by his «Christianus Sextus» trilogy, set in the 1720s, in which the mining culture is also a central theme. The tour provides insight into the author's life and works and takes you into the two residential houses on the farm.

For further events at Ratvollen- 

Summer walks at Ratvollen -

Source: Destinasjon Røros


Johan Falkberget - The museum at Ratvolden

Your recently viewed pages