Stein School is an experience for children and parents alike. During the 1930s, the school was decorated by well-known Norwegian artists. Reidar Aulie, Dagfinn Werenskiold, Henrik Sørensen and many other artists turned the school house into an imaginative colourful environment for education.
The principal Erling Elverhøy and Ingeborg Refling Hagen was "powersource" behind the arts and words which are painted on the walls in the building. The school was in ordinary use from 1912 to 1972 and is often referred to as the "Fairy Tale School". The "old school" from 1852 is placed beside Stein School and was in use until 1912.
Other attractions in the area:
The Aulie mill, Nes Churchruins, Funnefoss Industrial Museum, the small farm at Furuseth.