In the 17th century, Skeiane farmstead was a croft under Øvre Austrått. Gradually Skeiane developed into a centre for the Høyland area of Sandnes, with a municipal administration, bank and other facilities. Today there are three buildings at the farmstead. The oldest of these, deemed worthy of preservation, was built around 1770 as the main dwelling on the farm. Later, it served as a coach station, and there has also been a shop of sorts in this building.
Adjacent to the main house is a well-preserved cookhouse. The vicarage is a stately villa built around 1912, in a characteristic blend of Swiss-style and Jugend.
The Sandved house was built around 1840 in French Empire style. It was moved from the Sandved farm to Skeiane.