Welcome to Utsira! 333 bird species have been observed on Utsira and ornithologists from all over Europe travel to the island during the migratory seasons. There are also many historical artefacts located on the island. Utsira Lighthouse was erected in 1844 and Utsira Church was completed in 1875. There is a daily boat connection to Utsira, a journey which is an experience in itself.
6 km2 and home to 235 inhabitants, Utsira has the title of Norway's smallest municipality. Despite this, the island has been inhabited since Neolithic times. Utsira has a particularly interesting history. The island was owned by a monastery from around 1300 to 1500 and, after the Reformation, became Crown property. In 1745 Utsira was sold to an official of the royal court and was owned by his heirs until the mid 1800s, when the farms were sold to the tenant farmers who worked the land. In 1924, Utsira was designated a municipality, and established its own council comprising 11 women and 1 man in 1926. This event also marked the inauguration of Norway's first female lord mayor, Åsa Helgesen.
Sørevågen features a sandy beach, bathing jetty and grill. There is also a guest harbour with freshwater and WC. Sildaloftet has a guest pier housing a shower, toilet, washing machine and wireless Internet, as well as a fitness studio that is open to guests.
Utsira municipality has several bicycles that can used free of charge by visitors.