Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
Ad
Fjord Norway Bergen

Livreddaren - The Life Saver

Overview

A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau. A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau.The Spælsau (Old Norwegian Short Tail Landrace) is a breed of sheep from Norway. Many consider Spælsau to be the original breed of sheep in Norway, and it is one of the Northern European short-tailed sheep breeds. It is well adapted to the climate and was a domestic animal from the Iron Age The wool is characterised through having two layers: An outer longhaired glossy undulating layer of wool protecting the underlying layer against wind and rain, and an underlying layer which keeps the sheep warm. The long protective wool which is used for weaving is traditionally spun into two-strand tightly-spun yarn instead of the usual three-strand type, r

A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau.
A portrait and tribute to the Norwegian spælsau.The Spælsau (Old Norwegian Short Tail Landrace) is a breed of sheep from Norway. Many consider Spælsau to be the original breed of sheep in Norway, and it is one of the Northern European short-tailed sheep breeds.

It is well adapted to the climate and was a domestic animal from the Iron Age The wool is characterised through having two layers: An outer longhaired glossy undulating layer of wool protecting the underlying layer against wind and rain, and an underlying layer which keeps the sheep warm. The long protective wool which is used for weaving is traditionally spun into two-strand tightly-spun yarn instead of the usual three-strand type, resulting in a beautiful lustre.

Through photo, text and an installation made of wool, the Spælsau of today represents a fragile, interrelationship between animal and human.

Photos: Nils Olav Mevatne

Text: Øystein Rygg Haanes

Installation: Marit Adelsten Jensen and Else Karin Tysse Bysheim

Adult NOK 80
Children under 16 free of charge

  • Last Updated: 06/19/2018
  • Source: Bergen Reiselivslag
Dates

Tue, July 17, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, July 18, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, July 19, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, July 21, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 22, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 24, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, July 25, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, July 26, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, July 28, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, July 29, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, July 31, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, August 1, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, August 2, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, August 4, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, August 5, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, August 7, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, August 8, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, August 9, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, August 11, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, August 12, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, August 14, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, August 15, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, August 16, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, August 18, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, August 19, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Tue, August 21, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Wed, August 22, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Thu, August 23, 2018 12:00 PM 3:00 PM

Sat, August 25, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

Sun, August 26, 2018 12:00 PM 4:00 PM

See All
Livreddaren - The Life Saver
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad