Extensive collection of art and design. Masterpieces by Edvard Munch, Nikolai Astrup, Pablo Picasso, Paul Klee, J. C. Dahl and "the Silver Treasure".
Go back in time with a historical visit to KODE's extensive collection of art and design. The museum fills four buildings in the centre of the city. You can experience the masterpieces by Edvard Munch, Nikolai Astrup, Pablo Picasso, Paul Klee and J. C. Dahl, visit the unique exhibition "the Silver Treasure", admire the handicrafts and designs from the last five hundred years, or experience some of our temporary exhibitions.
Four buildings – one ticket.
KODE 1: Nordahl Bruns gate 9 KODE's building for fine craft and design. In the last two years, this building from 1896 has undergone comprehensive rehabilitation: both the building and the collections are more accessible to the public and the museum had its grand opening on May 23 2017. The exhibition "H.M. Queen Sonja – Underway" featuring the Queens art is on display until September 24. Several of KODEs collections are exhibited in KODE 1: Sølvskatten (The Silver Treasure) is the museum's permanent exhibition of silver and gold objects produced in Bergen, and the Singer Collection, which consists of European and Asiatic antiques, paintings and works by Old Masters.
KODE 1 also presents a new museum shop focusing on design and interior architecture, a new restaurant, a new education room for children, and a combined conference-and-banquet hall. Henry Bucher was the architect of this museum venue and it opened in 1896.
KODE 2: Rasmus Meyers allé 3 Permanent and temporarily exhibitions exhibition of contemporary art. The largest museums shop is in this the ground floor right next to the café, Smakverket. The Japanese artist Chiharu Shiota will exhibit in Bergen this fall, her exhibition "Direction" opens on October 27th in KODE 2. Shiota is internationally famous for her intricate and spectacular works using thread that fill entire rooms and she represented Japan at the 2015 Venice Biennale. Her works in thread combine particular spiritual reflections with direct physical experiences and architecture. In Bergen she will create a unique work for what will be a new exhibition space in the building.
The architect of this museum building was Sverre Lied and it opened in 1978. NB: KODE 2 is closed from 27 February until 27 October 2017 because of maintenance.
KODE 3: (Rasmus Meyers Collection) Rasmus Meyers allé 7 In this building you can experience the Rasmus Meyers Collection and KODE's unique collection of works by Edvard Munch, including many of his major works. Among the highlights of the Rasmus Meyers Collection are art from the Golden Age Norwegian art, as well as historical interiors from the Bergen area. It also includes highlights from the careers of artists such as J. C. Dahl, Harriet Backer, Erik Werenskiold and Gerhard Munthe.
The architect of KODE 3 was Ole Landmark and it was opened in 1924 in order to recieve the extensive art gift donated in 1916 from the businessman Rasmus Meyer.
KODE 4: Rasmus Meyers allé 9 In the groud floor of KODE 4 you can explore the largest collection of paintings and paperworks by the Norwegian artist Nikolai Astrup, one of the country's most beloved artists. KunstLab/ ArtLab, situated in the other end of the building, is great fun for children and families. This is the first museum for children including a specially designed laboratory where children are are free to explore the world of art thorugh play and experimentation. The first and second floor presents the core of the museums´s collections ranging from 14th century icons to Norwegian and international Modernism, ranging from Norwegian artists like J.C. Dahl and Christian Krohg to international names like Pablo Picasso, Paul Klee and Asger Jorn. The Tower room on the second floor presents temporary exhibitions.
Museumshop on the ground floor. At KODE 4 you will also find Lysverket, a restaurant specializing in seafood. The KODE 4 building opened in 1938 as an administration building for the electrical powerplant company. In 2003 it was restored and opened as a museum. The architects were Fredrik Arnesen and Arthur Darre Kaarbø.