Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Stavanger

Guided Kjerag Autumn Hike (premium day-hike)

  • Outdoorlife Norway, Ryfylkegata 13, Stavanger
  • +47 51880388
  • September 1, 2019 - November 17, 2019
  • (61 Upcoming Dates)
Overview

A UNIQUE GUIDED TOUR DESIGNED BY OUTDOORLIFE NORWAY! Join Outdoorlife Norway on an autumn hike to Kjerag, and witness the magic of the season's shifting colors and Norway's crisp and cool mountain air. For many, the trip's highlight is standing atop Kjerag's famous boulder, but the trek also provides hikers with an abundance of breath-taking views over the Lysefjord. Snow, when present, contrasts splendidly with the flame-colored foliage. Round out your adventure with a ferry ride through the spectacular Lysefjord.

Join Outdoorlife Norway on a guided autumn hike to Kjerag, and witness the magic of the season’s shifting colors and Norway’s crisp and cool mountain air. For many, the trip’s highlight is standing atop Kjerag’s famous boulder, but the trek also provides hikers with an abundance of breath-taking views over the Lysefjord. Snow, when present, contrasts splendidly with the flame-colored foliage. 

About 10,000 years ago, the last ice age ended and massive glaciers scraped their way from the mountain tops down toward sea level. In the process, Norway’s rugged landscapes, most notably its fjords, were formed. At some point, the famous Kjerag boulder was wedged into a mountain crevasse where it has hung ever since. Though it’s suspended a heart-stopping 984 meters above the Lysefjord, fearless visitors get the opportunity to feel the pure exhilaration that comes with standing atop the Kjerag boulder.

The hike to Kjerag is relatively demanding: you’ll trek 11 kilometers (round-trip) with an ascent of 800 meters in approximately* 5.5 hours.  To facilitate hiking through the most difficult types of terrain, Norway’s government has contracted Nepalese Sherpas to start making improvements to the trail. During Autumn, weather conditions can be unstable. As needed, the guide will adjust your equipment (ice spikes, etc.) to match the weather conditions. During the 2.5-hour hike to the boulder, you’ll encounter periods of steep climbing interspersed with shallow valleys.

The final 2 kilometers leading up to the Kjerag boulder are relatively flat and will allow you to focus more on the beautiful nature around you. Once you reach the edge of the mountain’s plateau, while standing on a 1000-meter-high cliff, you will be rewarded with panoramic views of the 42-kilometer-long Lysefjord.

Round out your adventure with a ferry ride through the spectacular Lysefjord on the way back to Stavanger. 

*In the event that snow is present, your hike may last longer than approximated.

  • Last Updated: 09/17/2019
  • Source: Region Stavanger
Dates

Wed, September 18, 2019

Thu, September 19, 2019

Fri, September 20, 2019

Sat, September 21, 2019

Sun, September 22, 2019

Mon, September 23, 2019

Tue, September 24, 2019

Wed, September 25, 2019

Thu, September 26, 2019

Fri, September 27, 2019

Sat, September 28, 2019

Sun, September 29, 2019

Mon, September 30, 2019

Tue, October 1, 2019

Wed, October 2, 2019

Thu, October 3, 2019

Fri, October 4, 2019

Sat, October 5, 2019

Sun, October 6, 2019

Mon, October 7, 2019

Tue, October 8, 2019

Wed, October 9, 2019

Thu, October 10, 2019

Fri, October 11, 2019

Sat, October 12, 2019

Sun, October 13, 2019

Mon, October 14, 2019

Tue, October 15, 2019

Wed, October 16, 2019

Thu, October 17, 2019

Fri, October 18, 2019

Sat, October 19, 2019

Sun, October 20, 2019

Mon, October 21, 2019

Tue, October 22, 2019

Wed, October 23, 2019

Thu, October 24, 2019

Fri, October 25, 2019

Sat, October 26, 2019

Sun, October 27, 2019

Mon, October 28, 2019

Tue, October 29, 2019

Wed, October 30, 2019

Thu, October 31, 2019

Fri, November 1, 2019

Sat, November 2, 2019

Sun, November 3, 2019

Mon, November 4, 2019

Tue, November 5, 2019

Wed, November 6, 2019

Thu, November 7, 2019

Fri, November 8, 2019

Sat, November 9, 2019

Sun, November 10, 2019

Mon, November 11, 2019

Tue, November 12, 2019

Wed, November 13, 2019

Thu, November 14, 2019

Fri, November 15, 2019

Sat, November 16, 2019

Sun, November 17, 2019

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Guided Kjerag Autumn Hike (premium day-hike)
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad