Dynamic Variation:
Offers
x

There was not an exact match for the language you toggled to. You have been redirected to the nearest matching page within this section.

Choose Language
Toggling to another language will take you to the matching page or nearest matching page within that selection.
Search & Book Sponsored Links
Dynamic Variation:
Search
or search all of Norway
Fjord Norway Stavanger

Norwegian Petroleum Museum - an architectural landmark

Overview

Norwegian Petroleum museum is situated in the Stavanger harbor basin close to the historic town center. In contrast to the picturesque wooden houses, the museum is a monumental, organic structure.

The main building is like a huge block of stone, while the cylinders in the sea are like ships or platforms at the dock
The architectural designs of both the building and exhibitions are primarily scenographic readings of oil installations in the North Sea and the geology of oil.

The stone clad main building is an interpretation of the Norwegian bedrock where the forces of nature, through hundreds of millions of years, have passed sediment to the North Sea, creating the basis for oil. The exhibition hall resembles a space in the landscape facing the sea where the black slate floors allude to the petrified slate and limestone sediment on the bottom of the North Sea, where raw oil is found in similar types of stone.

Three cylindrical platforms stand in the sea. From the exhibition hall and these cylinders there is a stunning view towards the Stavanger fjord, a wharf for oil rigs, and further towards the North Sea itself. Inland views are of the massive Ryfylke Mountains.

  • Last Updated: 11/05/2018
  • Source: Region Stavanger
Dates

Sat, February 16, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, February 17, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, February 18, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, February 19, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, February 20, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, February 21, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, February 22, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, February 23, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, February 24, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, February 25, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, February 26, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, February 27, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, February 28, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, March 1, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, March 2, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, March 3, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, March 4, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, March 5, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, March 6, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, March 7, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, March 8, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, March 9, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, March 10, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, March 11, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, March 12, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, March 13, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, March 14, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, March 15, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, March 16, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, March 17, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, March 18, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, March 19, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, March 20, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, March 21, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, March 22, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, March 23, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, March 24, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, March 25, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, March 26, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, March 27, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, March 28, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, March 29, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, March 30, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, March 31, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, April 1, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, April 2, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, April 3, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, April 4, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, April 5, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, April 6, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, April 7, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, April 8, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, April 9, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, April 10, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, April 11, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, April 12, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, April 13, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, April 14, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, April 15, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, April 16, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, April 17, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, April 18, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, April 19, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, April 20, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, April 21, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, April 22, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, April 23, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, April 24, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, April 25, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, April 26, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, April 27, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sun, April 28, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Mon, April 29, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, April 30, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 1, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 1, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, May 2, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, May 2, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, May 3, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, May 3, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, May 4, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, May 4, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, May 5, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sun, May 5, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, May 6, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, May 6, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, May 7, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, May 7, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, May 8, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 8, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, May 9, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, May 9, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, May 10, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, May 10, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, May 11, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, May 11, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, May 12, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sun, May 12, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, May 13, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, May 13, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, May 14, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, May 14, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, May 15, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 15, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, May 16, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, May 16, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, May 17, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, May 17, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, May 18, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, May 18, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, May 19, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sun, May 19, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, May 20, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, May 20, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, May 21, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, May 21, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, May 22, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 22, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, May 23, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, May 23, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, May 24, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, May 24, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, May 25, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Sat, May 25, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, May 26, 2019 10:00 AM 6:00 PM

Sun, May 26, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, May 27, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Mon, May 27, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, May 28, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Tue, May 28, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, May 29, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Wed, May 29, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, May 30, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Thu, May 30, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, May 31, 2019 10:00 AM 4:00 PM

Fri, May 31, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, June 1, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, June 2, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, June 3, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, June 4, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, June 5, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, June 6, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, June 7, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, June 8, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, June 9, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, June 10, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, June 11, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, June 12, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, June 13, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, June 14, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, June 15, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, June 16, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, June 17, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, June 18, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, June 19, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, June 20, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, June 21, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, June 22, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, June 23, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, June 24, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, June 25, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, June 26, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, June 27, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, June 28, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, June 29, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, June 30, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, July 1, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, July 2, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, July 3, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, July 4, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, July 5, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, July 6, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, July 7, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, July 8, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, July 9, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, July 10, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, July 11, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, July 12, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, July 13, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, July 14, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, July 15, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, July 16, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, July 17, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, July 18, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, July 19, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, July 20, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, July 21, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, July 22, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, July 23, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, July 24, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, July 25, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, July 26, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, July 27, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, July 28, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, July 29, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, July 30, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, July 31, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, August 1, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 2, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, August 3, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, August 4, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, August 5, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, August 6, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, August 7, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, August 8, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 9, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, August 10, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, August 11, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, August 12, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, August 13, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, August 14, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, August 15, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 16, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, August 17, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, August 18, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, August 19, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, August 20, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, August 21, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, August 22, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 23, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, August 24, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sun, August 25, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Mon, August 26, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Tue, August 27, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Wed, August 28, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Thu, August 29, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Fri, August 30, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

Sat, August 31, 2019 10:00 AM 7:00 PM

See All
Statens Kartverk, Geovekst og kommuner - Geodata AS
Norwegian Petroleum Museum - an architectural landmark
Your Recently Viewed Pages
Ad
Ad
Ad