Kristiansten Fortress towers above Trondheim city centre, and is one of the most popular recreational areas in town. The view from here is great.
Guided tours for smaller and larger groups are conducted at Kristiansten throughout the year. The many competent guides can adapt the tours to suit the target groups. Reservations can be made for schools, kindergartens, and groups, companies and private parties. The tours generally take around one hour (duration can be agreed).
To book a guide, please contact us at +47 47 60 19 86
Be your own guide through the area’s cultural and natural history.
Use our do-it-yourself guide-map to discover Kristiansten Fortress on your own.
Sites and places to visit have been marked on the map. Follow the numbers and get to know the intriguing history of the fortress.
The fortress grounds are open during the day, all days.
Kristiansten Fortress is only a 15-minute walk away from the Trondheim city centre, clearly visible on the hill to the east of the city.
Kristiansten Fortress consists of a central square tower for cannons, which has come to be known as the Donjon (from dungeon). The tower has four floors with gun slits in the walls, and the surrounding ramparts provided cover and munitions rooms. Today, the donjon is open to the public and houses a defence museum which is managed by the Armoury.
The former commandant's residence inside the ramparts has been brought back into service today as a simple coffee house.
Just outside the main gates lies the Haubitz depot which dates back to 1916. It is currently used as a storeroom, and also houses the public conveniences.
The fortress' ramparts, the Donjon, commandant’s residence and the casemates were restored for Trondheim’s 1000-year jubilee in 1997. One of the casemates has been turned into a chapel.
At the Fortress Inn visitors are welcome to take a nice break in the newly renovated rooms. The menu is extensive; you can choose between a simple snack of coffee and waffles, a hot lunch and excellent dinners. The Inn will also arrange parties for special occasions.
The old commandant’s residence dates back to 1770 and was recently restored to its original condition. The Fortress Inn has its premises in this venerable building and opened its doors in the spring 2005.
The fortress has a special children's pass which gives access to an activity trail with lots of exciting challenges.
The activity trail lets children develop their exploratory and investigative nature in the many activities suited to children and teenagers while passing on the history and unique character of the place in large, interactive models.
The fortress's cannon tower is known as the Donjon, and houses a defence museum which is open to the public.
In April 1681, Trondheim was devastated by fire and as a result, King Christian V instructed major general Jean Caspar de Cicignon and his chief of staff, quartermaster general Anthony Coucheron, to draw up a new plan for the city and fortifications. The subsequent plans gave the city an entirely new street grid, fortifications surrounding the city centre, as well as the fortress of Kristiansten. The fortress was built to protect the strategically important hill on the eastern side of town from being taken by the enemy.
Kristiansten was completed in 1684 and never saw active battle, although during general Armfeldt’s siege of Trondheim in 1718 the mere existence of the fortress was sufficient to keep the Swedes from attacking.
Whereas most of the bastions surrounding the city centre are no longer there today, Kristiansten with its outer defences has survived the passage of time and is currently the best preserved tower fortress in Norway – despite the order given by King Carl Johan in 1816 to the effect that the fortress was to be abandoned and left to the "ravishes of time".